Skip to main content

Appointment Confirmation by Customers

Written by Erin

Overview

No-shows are bad for business. In some industries they can be commonplace. But the resulting loss of revenue doesn't have to be.

Protect your revenue with our newest feature: Appointment Confirmation by Customers.

How's it work?

Automatic appointment confirmations are sent ahead of every appointment. By editing an appointment service, and scrolling to 'Booking Conditions' you can now choose:

  • If and when an appointment confirmation request is sent

  • How much time the customer has to respond

  • What happens if they don't respond in time, or reply that they can't make it

You also have the option to prevent the regular appointment reminder from being sent (If this reminder feels redundant to the confirmation request, just toggle this setting off).

Its important to note that this feature defaults to email and does not use SMS unless you choose to activate the SMS template.

How do I activate SMS confirmations?

Click Studio Setup > Transactional Templates > SMS > search for 'Appointment confirmation request (SMS)' and enable the template.

Note: If you've enabled the SMS version you may want to consider disabling the email version to avoid double messaging your customers.

To do this, click the email tab, search for 'appointment confirmation request' > then disable the email template.

Whats the customer experience?

Here's how it looks with SMS. A confirmation link is sent. If clicked, the customer is taken to a page where they can view the appointment details and confirm they can make it.

Here's how it looks with email.

What happens if a customer responds that they can't make it?

(ie. Does Momence have the smarts to understand to cancel their appointment?)

If a customer replies with something like 'I can't make' Momence will initiate a cancellation process by first confirming that the customer is ok with any late cancellation fees that may apply. If the customer confirms, the cancellation is made.

In addition, if there's an issue with the card on file (or one is not yet uploaded, as is the case above) a note about the initial failure to charge will be included in the message.

Any failed late cancellation fees associated can be tracked from Analytics > Reports > Failed Penalty Charges > set your date parameters > click 'apply filters.

Auto-retries of fees (number of attempts and how often) can be controlled Settings > Cancellation Policy > Settings.

What's the staff experience?

Staff can view who's confirmed by color on their schedule by using the 'Customer confirmation' tab in the top right. They can also see which appointments have yet to send a confirmation.

Here's a list of color statuses:

  • Green: confirmed

  • Orange: the email/sms went out and we're waiting for a response

  • Blue: the confirmation email/sms has not yet been sent, but will be sent soon

  • Red: past confirmation deadline but the action was set to "keep" (as in, if customer doesn't respond, keep the appointment -- do not cancel it).

  • Clear: late cancelled

How are staff notified if a customer cancels or has yet to confirm?

Staff are notified by email of a cancellation.

In the schedule, they'll also see a cancelled appointment appear with lines through it like this. Hovering over the appt will reveal its cancelled status.

What happens if an appointment is booked within the timeline of a normal reminder?

(ie. if my reminders fire 48 hours before an appointment starts and an appointment is booked 40 hours before its start time, what happens)?

The booking is confirmed automatically. The customer is not asked to confirm.

Where can I review my Appointment Cancellation Policy?

From Settings, under Customers click Cancellation Policy > click the Appointments tab.

If any auto-charges for late cancellations / no shows exist you'll be able to see them / edit them here.

Where can I edit the template content of confirmation messages?

Click Studio Setup > Transactional Templates > SMS (or email) > search for 'Appointment confirmation request' and edit the template. Check that its enabled before saving.

Remember to consider disabling the other form of confirmation messages. As in, if you prefer SMS to be sent, after enabling SMS, consider disabling the email version of these confirmation requests -- to avoid double messaging customers.

Troubleshooting

Why is my toggle for this feature greyed out?

This confirmation request feature is only available for (1) single customer services that (2) do not require full upfront payment.

You can make this toggle usable by changing the 'max customers' to 1, and the 'Checkout payment options' to anything other than 'Pay full price'. Something like this:

In my inbox, when I view a customer's message history, I'm not seeing the confirmation reminder that they responded to

Make sure you have 'transactional messages' checked in the filters section, pictured here. This should reveal the confirmation message (and any other transactional messages).

Did this answer your question?